Tap to book now
+(256)-414-532-162 +(256)-773-912-891 / +(256) 702 12 3064
Home ยป Rwanda National Game Parks

Rwanda National Game Parks

Akagera National Park, This is located in the north eastern end of Rwanda. It covers an area of 1,085 km2 making it the largest national park in Rwanda. It boarders Tanzania and incorporates the Kagera river hence the name Akagera. The national park was founded in 1934 to protect animals and vegetation in three habitats; Savannah, mountain and swamp. The most remote of the Nile sources, River Akagera flows along the eastern part of the park and feeds many parks, the largest being Lake Ihema. The labyrinth of lakes and papyrus swamps follows the river course to constitute a third of the park area. This protected wetland is the largest in central African region and in contrast to the farmed hills and Rwanda highlands, Akagera is at a moderately minor elevation with warm climate and the area mostly low lying savannah with rolling plains of broad leafed and acacia woodlands and grass lands. This open expansiveness is ideal for game viewing

Nyungwe Forest National Park, Nyungwe rainforest is positioned in the southwest of Rwanda, bordering Burundi in the south including Democratic Republic of the Congo and Lake Kivu in the west. This rain forest can be considered as so far the well conserved in the central African highlands. Positioned in the watershed divide of Congo River basin and the Nile basin in the west and east respectively, Nyungwe forest is a home to the branches of the sources of the Nile. Established in 2004, the forest park covers over 970km2 of the rain forest, grassland, bamboo, bogs and swamps. Kyangugu is the nearby town over 54 km to the west direction while the notable Bigugu Mountain lies within the park boarders.

Volcanoes National Park also referred to as Parc National des Volcanos in French is situated in north-west of Rwanda sharing a boarder with Mgahinga Gorilla National Park in Uganda and Virunga National Park in the Democratic Republic of Congo. This protected area is famously known for its mountain gorillas. It also houses five out of eight volcanoes that form the Virunga Highlands. These include; Bisoke, Karisimbi, Muhabura, Sabyinyo and Gahinga.

The first gazettion occurred in 1925 where the land mass surrounded by Visoke, Mikeno and Karisimbi, was allocated with intention to minimise gorilla poaching.